Introduction
Several years ago I had my first run in with a software synth. Probably the most famous of software synths the revolutionary, CSound.

It didn't take me long to realize the potential of software synths the moment I heard my first successful .orc and .sco. (The CSound equvilents to instruments and compositions.)

I intentionally backed away from soft synths due to their arcane and often unreliable nature. Waiting with a watchful eye on their progress. Then they went visual. Virtual knobs, sliders, etc. and I knew it was only a matter of time before somebody got it right.

Somewhere during this time I hapt across a free downloadable demo of the Propellerheads "Rebirth" Software. I contacted them immeadeatly and let them know that although I was a more traditional musician who plays the music from a keyboard and couldn't make much use of Rebirth, I would love to see their interpretation of a full on softsynth. So needless to say the day I popped by their web site last year just to see what was going on I had a major goosebump breakout as I say a screen shot from "Reason!"

I have recently purchased the software and can proudly say I was right. This is the big one.

In all of my recent testing and discovery sessions using Reason on Mac and PC I have really only come to one MAJOR con regarding this incredible program. That is its ability to handle direct audio input without leaving the Reason environment. So I have developed a work around and would like to share it with you know in this tutorial entitled;

"Incorporating Guitar and Other Outside Instruments Into the Reason Environment"

Step 1: Record Your Audio
Note: For this method I will recommend creating your outside audio data first. In my opinion try to record to anything you find easiest to flow freely with. Just because we are in the ultra tech computer world do not be afraid to try jamming loosely to an audio cassette or other strange recording devices. The results may surprise you!